Dvořák’s New World Symphony Four Steps to the New World

Dvořák’s New World Symphony ⬩ Four Steps to the New World

The programme is based on a musical part but also on a spoken word that will be given in Czech language only. The program will not be supplied with English subtitles.

Duration of the programme 2 hod


Dvořák was terribly worried about whether moving to the United States of America, where he was the director of the National Conservatory in New York from 1892 to 1895, might cost him his inspiration – whether he would be able to write music at all or would lose the source of his musical ideas being so far from Bohemia. The New World Symphony – as the first work he composed in America – showed that he had no need to worry. But throughout the work, we find traces of this tension and struggle. We also find something characteristic of Dvořák in the piece, and one of the critics at the premiere of the symphony “From the New World” captured it beautifully: He has a dark complexion, dark hair, thin in front. His short, dark beard is beginning to turn grey. The large dark eyes are steady. His face is honest and friendly and its expression reveals an open and guileless nature – but sometimes his gaze seems to turn somewhere far away…”


Czech Student Philharmonic 
(players of the Czech Philharmonic, members of the Czech Philharmonic Orchestral Academy and music school students)

Marko Ivanović

Petr Kadlec

Rudolfinum — Dvorak Hall

5/9/2019 Thursday 7:30 PM

How to buy tickets

Buy online

For online shopping you will be redirected to the website of the Czech Philharmonic.

Personally at the Rudolfinum cash desk

Vacancies and other information about the concert will be provided by the Czech Philharmonic's Customer Service.