Czech Philharmonic Semyon Bychkov

Czech Philharmonic ⬩ Semyon Bychkov

Fascinating works marked by their time – that could be the title of Semyon Bychkov’s unusual programme. The Mystery of Time by Miloslav Kabeláč from the 1950s was ill-suited for that period. Viktor Ullmann wrote his melodrama in Theresienstadt before being taken to Auschwitz. Johannes Brahms’s First Symphony took 20 years to reach its final form.

Duration of the programme 1 hour 55 minutes


Miloslav Kabeláč
The Mystery of Time, passacaglia for large orchestra, Op. 31 (24')

Viktor Ullmann
Die Weise von Liebe und Tod des Cornets Christoph Rilke for recitation and orchestra (25')

— Intermission —

Johannes Brahms
Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68 (45')


Thomas Quasthoff narrator

Semyon Bychkov conductor

Czech Philharmonic

Rudolfinum — Dvořák Hall

2/17/2022 Thursday 10:00 AM
Dress rehearsal

The event has passed

2/17/2022 Thursday 7:30 PM

The event has passed

2/18/2022 Friday 7:30 PM

The event has passed

2/19/2022 Saturday 3:00 PM

The event has passed