Czech Philharmonic Franz Welser-Möst

Czech Philharmonic ⬩ Franz Welser-Möst

In the last days of his life, Anton Bruckner was still working on a masterpiece dedicated “to beloved God”. His complex Ninth Symphony embodies a mixture of late Romanticism and Modernism. The first half of the programme features a lighter genre – the Violin Concerto No. 5 by Bruckner’s compatriot Mozart played by concertmaster Jan Mráček.

Duration of the programme 1 hod 55 min


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major, K 219 (31')
Allegro aperto
Rondeau – Tempo di menuetto – Allegro

— Intermission —

Anton Bruckner
Symphony No. 9 in D minor, WAB 109 (63')
Feierlich, misterioso (Solemn, mysterious)
Scherzo. Bewegt, lebhaft; Trio. Schnell (Scherzo. Animated, lively; Trio. Fast)
Adagio. Langsam, feierlich (Adagio. Slow, solemn)


Jan Mráček violin

Franz Welser-Möst conductor

Czech Philharmonic

About 120 years separate Mozart’s Fifth Violin Concerto from Bruckner’s Ninth Symphony. In music history, this is the period stretching from Classicism to Late Romanticism, a time of great political and social change. The Austrian Empire where both composers were born and lived became Austria-Hungary, went through various wars and revolutions, and witnessed sweeping scientific discoveries and the industrial revolution. Above all, the works contrast in mood: the feelings that reign supreme in Mozart’s concerto are joy, youthfulness, lightness, and carefree playfulness, while in Bruckner’s symphony, written at the very end of his life, the themes are existential.

Rudolfinum — Dvořák Hall

3/31/2022 Thursday 10:00 AM
Dress rehearsal
3/31/2022 Thursday 7:30 PM
4/1/2022 Friday 7:30 PM
4/2/2022 Saturday 3:00 PM

How to buy tickets

Buy online

For online shopping you will be redirected to the website of the Czech Philharmonic.

Personally at the Rudolfinum cash desk

Information not only about available seats will be provided by the customer service of the Czech Philharmonic.

Customer Service of Czech Philharmonic

Tel.: +420 227 059 227

Customer service is available on weekdays from 9.00 am to 6.00 pm.