Czech Chamber Music Society Markéta Cukrová

Czech Chamber Music Society ⬩ Markéta Cukrová

Markéta Cukrová’s concert is among those carried over from last season. This sought-after mezzo-soprano is praised for her exceptional versatility and the sensitivity with which she approaches music ranging from the Middle Ages to the 20th century. She will be joined by harpist Kateřina Ghanudi and theorbo player and guitarist Jan Krejča.

Czech Chamber Music Society


Francesco del Nicolino
Tu dormi, anima mia

Giulio Caccini
Se ridete gioiose

Claudio Monteverdi
Dolci miei sospiri

Bellerofonte Castaldi
Tasteggio soave pro theorbu sólo

Settimia Caccini
Due luci ridenti

Francesca Caccini
Lasciatemi qui solo

Bellerofonte Castaldi
Capriccio detto Bischizzoso for harp and theorbo

Claudio Monteverdi
Ecco di dolci raggi
Io che armato sin hor

Amor crudo, fior tiranno

Barbara Strozzi
Udite, udite!

Ascanio Mayone
Ricercar sopra il canto di Costantio Festa for harp solo

Giulio Caccini
Amarilli mia bella

Tarquinio Merula
Canzonetta spirituale sopra la Nanna


Markéta Cukrová mezzo-soprano
Kateřina Ghannudi harp
Jan Krejča theorbo

Instead of the initially planned programme with contemporary music, the soloist will be presenting herself in a completely different light. The instrumentation itself reveals that we are going back several centuries. Italy of the first half of the 17th century was an especially noted centre for vocal music. The programme of the evening consists mainly of music by G. Caccini and C. Monteverdi that perhaps has never before been heard in this hall.

Rudolfinum — Suk Hall

12/14/2021 Tuesday 5:30 PM

The event has passed