Czech Chamber Music Society Josef Špaček

Czech Chamber Music Society ⬩ Josef Špaček

These two artists found each other only recently, and the artistic sparks were flying already at their joint debut in Italy. Federico Colli first appeared in Prague a few years ago at Debut Day of the Dvořák Prague Festival. He immediately won the audience and says he fondly remembers the lovely atmosphere and amazing acoustics of the Dvořák Hall.

Czech Chamber Music Society


Sergei Prokofiev
Five Melodies for violin and piano, Op. 35bis
Lento, ma non troppo
Animato, ma non allegro
Allegretto leggero e scherzando
Andante non troppo

Johannes Brahms
Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 3 in D Minor, Op. 108
Allegro alla breve
Un poco presto e con sentimento
Presto. Agitato

— Intermission —

Fazil Say
Sonata for Violin and Piano
Introduction. Melancholy. Andante misterioso
Grotesque. Moderato scherzando
Perpetuum mobile. Presto
Anonymous. Andante
Epilogue. Melancholy. Andante misterioso

Sergei Prokofiev
Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 2 in D Major, Op. 94a
Scherzo. Presto
Andante con brio


Josef Špaček violin

Federico Colli piano

The performers have agreed on an interesting and varied programme with music by Prokofiev at the forefront. Following his rather brief Five Melodies in the first half of the concert is Brahms’s Sonata in D minor, a tribute to the 125th anniversary of the composer’s death. Turkish pianist Fazil Say is known to us mainly as a performer, but a careful look at his biography reveals a pleasant surprise: he is also a composer of a considerable scope, including film music. The artists giving today’s concert programmed the 25-year-old Sonata for violin and piano. The performance ends with another work by Prokofiev, the Second Sonata from 1943, premièred by great violinist D. Oistrakh.



Rudolfinum — Dvořák Hall

2/20/2022 Sunday 5:30 PM

The event has passed