Czech Philharmonic Christmas Concert

Czech Philharmonic ⬩ Christmas Concert

Ryba’s Mass is a Czech Christmas tradition, and the Czech Philharmonic has programmed it repeatedly. This time, it will be in a unique collaboration with a specialist in the Baroque and Classical repertoire, the conductor Václav Luks and his Collegium Vocale 1704.


Jakub Jan Ryba
Czech Christmas Mass “Hail, Master!” (44')

— Intermission —

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Coronation Mass in C major, K 317 (24')


Slávka Zámečníková soprano
Václava Krejčí Housková alto
Jaroslav Březina tenor
Roman Hoza bass

Václav Luks conductor

Collegium Vocale 1704

Czech Philharmonic

You can listen to the concert on our YouTube channel.

“When Jakub Jan Ryba composed his Czech Christmas Mass in 1796 for the church in Rožmitál, he may very well have had the music of Mozart in his ears—it was heard everywhere. The cantor of Rožmitál had enormous admiration for the Austrian genius, and he regarded Mozart’s works as the embodiment of musical perfection. In the simple harmonies of Ryba’s Mass, we cannot miss that Mozart was his model, nor can we fail to notice the melodic inventiveness of this extremely well educated musician. Besides his best-known Mass, he also composed a large quantity of very demanding and artistically ambitious works, but the simple music of this pastoral Mass still bears the hallmarks of Ryba’s genius”, says Václav Luks.

Rudolfinum — Dvořák Hall

12/20/2022 Tuesday 6:00 PM

The event has passed

12/20/2022 Tuesday 8:30 PM

The event has passed

Live stream