Czech Philharmonic Semyon Bychkov

Czech Philharmonic ⬩ Semyon Bychkov

The young Korean pianist Seong-Jin Cho will be performing a brand new piano concerto by the French organist and conductor Thierry Escaich. In addition, under the baton of its chief conductor Semyon Bychkov, the orchestra will perform iconic works by Béla Bartók and Igor Stravinsky.

Duration of the programme 1 hod 45 min


Béla Bartók
The Miraculous Mandarin, suite from the ballet-pantomime (20')

Thierry Escaich
Etudes symphoniques for piano and orchestra (world premiere) (30')

— Intermission —

Igor Stravinsky
Petrushka. Burlesque scenes in four tableaux (1947 concert version) (34')


Seong-Jin Cho piano

Semyon Bychkov conductor

Czech Philharmonic

Semyon Bychkov says: “I am convinced that Escaich’s new concerto played by the winner of the Chopin Competition in Warsaw, the Korean pianist Seong-Jin Cho, will truly be a musical event. Bartók’s Miraculous Mandarin and Stravinsky’s Petrushka, the first and last works on the programme, were both major events of their own kind at the time of their premieres, which occurred at nearly the same time. Both compositions embody something unparalleled in earlier music, and both caused a bit of a scandal at their premieres. I say ‘a bit’ because any reaction by the pubic and critics seems quite peaceable in comparison with the tsunami unleashed by the premiere of The Rite of Spring. I think the combination of The Miraculous Mandarin and Petrushka will make a revelatory, refreshing impression, and quite a theatrical evening awaits us because both works were originally ballet music.”

Rudolfinum — Dvořák Hall

3/16/2023 Thursday 7:30 PM

The event has passed

3/17/2023 Friday 7:30 PM

The event has passed

3/18/2023 Saturday 3:00 PM

The event has passed