R3 / Oscar-Winning Music by E. W. Korngold Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra

R3 / Oscar-Winning Music by E. W. Korngold ⬩ Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra


Erich Wolfgang Korngold
Adventures of Robin Hood Suite

Richard Strauss
Burleske for Piano and Orchestra in D minor

Erich Wolfgang Korngold
Symphony in F sharp


John Axelrod conductor
Ivo Kahánek piano

The exceptionally talented Brno-born Erich Wolfgang Korngold made history first and foremost as the founder of the characteristic genre of Hollywood film music, whose legacy is still drawn upon by many composers today, including the legendary John Williams. In his return to the Radio Symphony, American conductor John Axelrod will put Korngold's personality in a broader context. Korngold will be recognised as the composer of the music for the film The Adventures of Robin Hood, for which he won his second Oscar, and as a composer of concert music, in particular the post-war Symphony in F sharp major, dedicated to the memory of Franklin Delano Roosevelt. The programme will be completed by the Burlesque by Korngold's older contemporary Richard Strauss, featuring Ivo Kahánek, one of the most sought-after Czech pianists today.

Rudolfinum — Dvořák Hall

11/28/2022 Monday 7:30 PM

How to buy tickets

Buy online

For online shopping you will be redirected to the web SOČR.

Personally at the Rudolfinum cash desk

Information not only about available seats will be provided by the customer service of the Czech Philharmonic.

Tickets: online at Goout.cz, Czech Philharmonic Tickets Office