Czech Philharmonic New Year’s Concert

Czech Philharmonic ⬩ New Year’s Concert

For New Year’s Eve, the repertoire will reflect the start of the Year of Czech Music. For the occasion, conductor Jakub Hrůša has made a varied selection of Czech compositions with a solo opportunity for the violinist Jiří Vodička, and at the conclusion, the pianist Olga Kern will commemorate the 100th birthday of Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue.


Bedřich Smetana
The Bartered Bride, overture to the opera

Antonín Dvořák
Romance for Violin and Orchestra in F minor, Op. 11

Leoš Janáček
Lachian Dances (Selections)

Antonín Dvořák
Mazurek for violin and orchestra, Op. 49

Oskar Nedbal
Valse triste from the ballet pantomime
The Tale of Simple Johnny

Josef Suk
Towards a New Life, festive march, Op. 35c

Antonín Dvořák
Suite in A major, Op. 98b
“American Suite”
movements I and V

George Gershwin
Rhapsody in Blue


Olga Kern piano
Jiří Vodička violin

Jakub Hrůša conductor

Czech Philharmonic

Concerts take place in collaboration with the Prague Sounds Festival.

Rudolfinum — Dvořák Hall

12/31/2023 Sunday 11:00 AM
1/1/2024 Monday 3:00 PM
1/1/2024 Monday 8:00 PM

How to buy tickets

Buy online

For online shopping you will be redirected to the website of the Czech Philharmonic.

Personally at the Rudolfinum cash desk

Vacancies and other information about the concert will be provided by the Czech Philharmonic's Customer Service.

The sale of individual tickets for subscription concerts (orchestral, chamber, educational) will begin on Wednesday 7 June 2023 at 10.00 a.m. Tickets for the public dress rehearsals will go on sale on 13 September 2023 at 10.00 a.m.

Customer Service of Czech Philharmonic

Tel.:  +420 227 059 227


Customer service is available on weekdays from 9.00 am to 6.00 pm.