Gidon Kremer & Philip Glass Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra

Gidon Kremer & Philip Glass ⬩ Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra


Bohuslav Martinů
Thunderbolt P-47, H. 309

Philip Glass
Double Concerto for Violin, Cello and Orchestra

Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony no. 7 in A major, op. 92


Omer Meir Wellber conductor
Gidon Kremer violin
Giedrė Dirvanauskaitė cello

The Czech debut of the leading Israeli conductor Omer Meir Wellber promises an extremely attractive programme. The evening will open with the orchestral scherzo Thunderbolt P47, which Bohuslav Martinů wrote immediately after the end of the Second World War, inspired by the eponymous fighter that became a symbol of the American Air Force. Subsequently, the legendary Latvian violinist Gidon Kremer will join the orchestra together with the Lithuanian cellist Giedrė Dirvanauskaitė, and in the Czech premiere they will present the Double Concerto for Violin and Cello by Philip Glass. One of the founders of minimalism in music, who today belongs to the most famous living authors, wrote the half-hour work in 2010 originally as a ballet music. The programme culminates with Ludwig van Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony, which has been called the “apotheosis of the dance” for its thrilling rhythmic ideas.

Rudolfinum — Dvořák Hall

12/11/2023 Monday 7:30 PM

How to buy tickets

Buy online

For online shopping you will be redirected to the web SOČR.

Personally at the Rudolfinum cash desk

Vacancies and other information about the concert will be provided by the Czech Philharmonic's Customer Service.