R2 / Janáček – Rubinstein – Tchaikovsky Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra

R2 / Janáček – Rubinstein – Tchaikovsky ⬩ Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra


Leoš Janáček
The Fiddler's Child

Anton Rubinstein
Piano Concerto No. 4 in D minor, Op. 70

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64


Marko Ivanović conductor
Martin Kasík piano

A remarkable combination of Czech and Russian music – that is promised by this concert under the baton of Marko Ivanović, chief conductor of the Janáček Opera at the National Theatre in Brno. The evening will be opened by the balladic The Fiddler's Child. Leoš Janáček was inspired by a poem about a poor wandering musician who leaves only an orphaned child and a violin. The orchestra will then be joined by pianist Martin Kasík, a regular guest of the Radio Symphony. This time he will perform the Fourth Piano Concerto by the Russian Romantic composer and pianist Anton Rubinstein, who has been compared to Ferenc Liszt for his art. The evening culminates with another work by the Russian composer, Symphony No. 5 by Rubinstein's contemporary Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky.

Rudolfinum — Dvořákova síň

11/7/2022 Monday 7:30 PM

The event has passed