R4 / Written for the Prague Radio Symphony: Martin Smolka Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra

R4 / Written for the Prague Radio Symphony: Martin Smolka ⬩ Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra

Meet-up with the artists before the concert Rudolfinum | Talich Lounge | 1st floor | 6.30-7.15 pm


Joseph Haydn
Symphony No. 60 in C major "Il Distratto"

Martin Smolka
Presto e lento - new work for piano and orchestra commissioned by PRSO, world premier

Richard Strauss
Symphonia Domestica


Petr Popelka conductor
Nicolas Hodges piano

The Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra regularly commissions works by contemporary composers and performs them in world premieres. The first such venture for chief conductor Petr Popelka will be the staging of a new composition for piano and orchestra by Martin Smolka, whose works are performed by leading European orchestras, including the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra. The soloist is Nicolas Hodges, one of the best pianists specialising in contemporary music. The programme opens with a playful symphony full of surprising twists and turns, in the third movement of which Joseph Haydn also prescribed the orchestra's tuning. The evening will conclude with one of Richard Strauss's supreme symphonic poems, Symphonia domestica, the composer's intimate reflection on family life.

The project has been made possible thanks to financial support from the City of Prague. Prague

Rudolfinum — Dvořák Hall

12/5/2022 Monday 9:30 AM
Dress rehearsal
12/5/2022 Monday 7:30 PM

How to buy tickets

Buy online

For online shopping you will be redirected to the web SOČR.

Personally at the Rudolfinum cash desk

Vacancies and other information about the concert will be provided by the Czech Philharmonic's Customer Service.

Tickets: online at Goout.cz, Czech Philharmonic Tickets Office