From My Life

From My Life

Bedřich Smetana titled his String Quartet No. 1 in E minor aptly, From My Life. "I wanted to depict the course of my life in the tones," he writes, emphasising that he did not write the music according to the usual recipes, but that this quartet "took the form it has by itself". He completed the composition before the end of 1876.

Duration of the programme 1 hod 30 min
From 12 years


Bedrich Smetana
String Quartet No. 1 in E minor


Magdaléna Mašlaňová 1. violin and artistic direction
Zdeňka Hájková viola
Petr Mašlaň cello
Matěj Polášek violin

Petr Kadlec guide

The programme is based on a musical part but also on a spoken word that will be given in Czech language only. The programme will not be supplied with English subtitles.

Rudolfinum — Suk Hall

6/18/2024 Tuesday 7:00 PM
6/19/2024 Wednesday 7:00 PM

How to buy tickets

Buy online

For online shopping you will be redirected to the website of the Czech Philharmonic.

Personally at the Rudolfinum cash desk

Vacancies and other information about the concert will be provided by the Czech Philharmonic's Customer Service.

The sale of individual tickets for subscription concerts (orchestral, chamber, educational) will begin on Wednesday 7 June 2023 at 10.00 a.m. Tickets for the public dress rehearsals will go on sale on 13 September 2023 at 10.00 a.m.

Customer Service of Czech Philharmonic

Tel.:  +420 227 059 227


Customer service is available on weekdays from 9.00 am to 6.00 pm.