R11 / Suk – Dvořák – Martinů Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra

R11 / Suk – Dvořák – Martinů ⬩ Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra


Josef Suk
Fantastic Scherzo, op. 25

Antonín Dvořák
The Golden Spinning Wheel, symphonic poem, op. 109

Bohuslav Martinů
Czech Rhapsody, H. 118


Petr Altrichter conductor
Ivan Kusnjer baritone
Daniela Valtová Kosinová organ
Czech Philharmonic Choir of Brno
Petr Fiala choirmaster

The renowned conductor Petr Altrichter will present a programme of music by three generations of Czech composers with the PRSO who are interconnected by the teacher-student relationship. Josef Suk, whose brilliant Fantastic Scherzo will be performed as the first piece, was a student of Antonín Dvořák, the author of the symphonic poem The Golden Spinning Wheel, inspired by the ballad of the same name from Karel Jaromír Erben’s collection A Bouquet of Czech Folktales. The evening will culminate with the Czech Rhapsody, a cantata for baritone, organ and orchestra. The young Bohuslav Martinů, a student of Josef Suk, composed it in 1918, the year when Czechoslovakia gained its independence. In his patriotic work, he used the text of a biblical psalm, the poem Bohemia by Jaroslav Vrchlický, and the Saint Wenceslas Chorale. He dedicated the piece to the writer Alois Jirásek. The successful premiere took place in 1919 in the presence of the president of the newly established republic, Tomáš Garrigue Masaryk.

Rudolfinum — Dvořák Hall

4/29/2024 Monday 7:30 PM

How to buy tickets

Buy online

For online shopping you will be redirected to the web SOČR.

Personally at the Rudolfinum cash desk

Information not only about available seats will be provided by the customer service of the Czech Philharmonic.